Forever Young

“Youth is, after all, just a moment, but it is the moment, the spark, that you always carry in your heart.”   -Raisa M. Gorbachev

After the tough and cold fall semester came to a close, followed by a 6-week lazy-filled Christmas break, I now sit in the middle of the last school semester of my life. Probably my best semester yet, I am starting to worry about how quickly the nights come; time is going too fast. After six days of bliss in Mexico that I am about to partake in, I will return to approximately a month-and-a-half left of my college career.

Exactly a year ago, my mind was pre-occupied with my study abroad and internship trip to London. I was ready for a change and couldn’t wait to experience a new city and more importantly, country. I couldn’t think of anything other than my future: scoring that internship, perfecting my resume and thinking of where I am going to live in five years. While I am still partly in that state of mind, I am starting to think all this is ending too fast–life before the “real world.”

At the best state of mind and place I’ve been in my life, I am learning to appreciate the moment and take one day at a time. When else am I going to be able to have three dollars in my bank account yet still be able to eat and have a place to sleep? (thanks mom and dad)! Sometimes I want to stay in the present for a bit longer, because before I know it, I will be running around with someone else’s coffee like a mad woman hoping not to trip on my heels.

So, I’ve decided to bring back the past a bit; hold onto my inner child as long as possible. I encourage each and every one of you to reminisce on the days where waking up early wasn’t a chore, breakfast was hot and ready at the table every morning and the biggest stressor of the day was being in bed by 8.  I also encourage you to raid your attic or storage rooms for what is now considered “vintage” clothing.

Gave away all your old clothes? While none of the clothing featured below is considered “vintage,” I encourage you to bring out your inner child. Even if it’s just a bow in your hair or purple nail polish, hold onto that 8-year-old you before he or she fully escapes.

 

Oh, and not to offend any parents, but my fellow graduates: you don’t HAVE to get a job right away. Experiment. Volunteer. Travel. You’re only young once and you may never get to see the the leaning tower of Pisa or jump out of  a plane again without worrying you’ll be leaving your kids behind if the parachute doesn’t open.

So buckle up, because there is no excuse to begin the rest of your life at a nine to five  job you hate.  Waitress, intern, and don’t commit to something unless you are one hundred percent sure it’s for you. If you have to live on someone’s couch for awhile, at least it’ll make for some good stories.

Before marriage, kids, and financial responsibilites, I plan on traveling as much as I can, moving to different cities, and experiencing different jobs. You never know what you could discover or who you can meet along the way.

Here are some great finds that will encourage your inner child to emerge.

 

http://www.modcloth.com

http://www.franceluxe.com

http://www.delias.com

http://www.famousfootwear.com

Leave a Reply

