Bieber Fever — Revisited

Hello all. I would like to welcome you to my first blog where fashion, music, beauty, health, and events are featured.  From fashion trends to new albums, to weekend getaways–you can find it here. Now that the Valentine’s blues are over (being the single gal that I am–and thankful for it), I would proudly say that spring is here. With 70 degree weather and the fashion brighter and fresher than ever, I’d say it’s a excellent start to a beautiful season.

While leaving the office to grab some cold drinks for my  co-workers and myself, I was startled by the life-size Justin Bieber cutout staring at me in the front office. When I walked outside and turned the key in the ignition of my car, my favorite alternative radio station afternoon show was starting. First topic:  Justin Bieber. I realized I couldn’t escape him.  He was the highlight of the Grammys and his movie, Never Say Never made a whopping $12.35 million at its opening debut, beating out Jennifer Aniston and Adam Sandler’s movie, Just Go With It.

Needless to say, I have never been much of a Biebs fan. When I first heard him sing I thought it was a girl. His plaster-mop of a hairdo, his poser clothes, “bling”  jewelry and that whiny voice kind of turned me off. Circa 1998, I’d be all over that. I used to pretend I was married to Leonardo DiCaprio when Titanic came out and I had an unhealthy obsession with N’sync.

The alternative station that I was listening to does not play Justin Bieber’s music, but they were discussing his cover article in Rolling Stone. The DJ was saying how Bieber talked about everything from abortion, healthcare to sex in the piece. I turned up the volume. When asked about Bieber’s  thoughts on abortion, he said he didn’t agree with it.

courtesey of rollingstone.com

“I don’t believe in abortion,” Bieber said. “It’s like killing a baby.” When asked about what to do in rape situations, he said, “Um. Well I think that’s really sad, but everything happens for a reason. I don’t know how that would be a reason. I guess I haven’t been in that position, so I wouldn’t be able to judge that.” (rollingstone.com)

When asked about healthcare, he described America as “evil”. Not currently an American citizen, Bieber was born in Canada. “Canada’s the best country in the world. We go to the doctor and we don’t need to worry about paying him, but here, your whole life, you’re broke because of medical bills.” (rollingstone.com)

When asked about sex, Bieber said that people should wait until they’re in love. Bieber is currently dating Disney star Selena Gomez, and I would rather not know whether they are in love or not.

It was a relief to learn that the 16-year-old may have a bit of a brain. Hopefully after he reaches puberty (if that ever happens), he will be even more open-minded and wise.

While I’m still not a fan of his music, I have come to learn to appreciate him. He’s not an adult yet but is set for life. With three albums out and one acoustic, a multi-million dollar profitied movie and plans for future TV appearances, Justin Bieber is doing alright (just alright). Although he probably has an entourage, or in his case, a few football teams of people working for him, Bieber never comes off as spoiled or snobish. His humble demeanor is something that I respect and hopefully he will uphold that behavior for the rest of his career.

The next time I see Justin Bieber on TV, or hear his music or his name for that matter, I’ll look past his skinny jeans and awful haircut and give him a break. My usual cringed face and tense shoulders will be replaced with a smile and a sigh that says, “Oh Biebs.”

Leave a Reply

